fredoland

  • 02:25:08 am on September 6, 2005 | 7

    Because I have nothing interesting to say for myself, I am once again relying
    on the kind words of others. Below is a fresh round of recent feedback
    from some of our early beta testers. If only the new what Chris Messina
    and the crew had in store for them for .3!

    * N. Godbout – Simplistically

    Flock Browser – My goodness! This is the most brilliant idea for a web browser I’ve ever heard of. Beats the crap out of whatever the gbrowser?
    was going to be. Any search company would be smart to imitate.
    Personally, I can see this as a great Yahoo! My Web 2.0 addition. I
    predict that Yahoo will eat it up asap.”


    *
    Phillip MarquezThe Wulf’s Den

    “I tripped over this entry on thesocialsoftwarebweblog
    while trying to do a little research on social bookmarking websites. I
    don’t know what made me stop and read the short post, I’m quite happy
    using Firefox, but now my interest is firmly snared by this upcoming browser…

    The real hook is the fact that you will be able to work on your blogging from one application.”

    *Sam – Discussion Board Thread (with Scoble)

    In response to another comment
    about Flock, Robert Scoble said, “I was one of the first to write about Flock.
    Looks awesome.?

    * Tech News Online.net – Tech News
    Online

    “In fact, Flock is so cool that I’m going to use it
    exclusively to write posts and what not.  Flock is focused on the social
    part of the web, leaving all the rendering engine stuff to it’s Firefox core,
    and so far it has really impressed me”


    Other Coverage

    * Razvan Antonescu – Razvan Antonescu’s
    Blog

    * P2P Exeem – Peer-to-Peer
    Exemplary Empire

    * Dion Almaer and Ben Galbraith – Ajaxian
    Blog

    * Robin Sloan – SnarkMarket

     

Comments

  • Phillip Marquez 8:52 am on September 7, 2005 | # | Reply

    Ahem,

    Below is a fresh round of recent feedback
    from some of our early beta testers.

    [raises hand]

    I am not a beta tester, but would looooove to be one. [hint, hint]

    *grin*

  • Abdul_Mueid 4:40 pm on September 11, 2005 | # | Reply

    I outlined some of the flock’s features with a couple of screenshots on my blog and someone left a comment saying I was not allowed to release the details until beta is out… So, I went and stripped off the Flock post and screenshots.

    Can I post it now since I see many places are already posting about it.

  • Michael 5:38 pm on September 11, 2005 | # | Reply

    Hey! How are you? Flock seems to offer great options! I hope it will be out of beta soon though… because I would be really really happy to test it… I know I have to be invited to use it right now, but I’ll take a chance anyway… Fredo, I would be very happy to test the new Flock Browser… So if you feel generous today, I would appreciate to test it! If you cannot send me an invite, I’ll understand too! But, from what I heard, I think that the integration with WordPress.com works very well… And as a new WordPresser, I would like to test these new features!

    Thank you Fredo and have a nice day!
    Michael (http://sk8michael.wordpress.com => Thanks again Abdul for the invite 😉

  • Jon 11:36 am on September 12, 2005 | # | Reply

    Does your husband blog?

  • Derek 3:58 am on September 15, 2005 | # | Reply

    I outlined some of the flock’s features with a couple of screenshots on my blog and someone left a comment saying I was not allowed to release the details until beta is out…

    I was under the impression that we weren’t allowed to share actual screenshots of the browser. Most internet users who are waiting around for Flock know about the feature set. It’s the interface that is supposed to be kept secret. (Or that’s what I was lead to believe)

  • Tim 9:02 pm on October 15, 2005 | # | Reply

    The future belongs to the flockers, no doubt, and even if the paradigm of social web browsing will need some more time to become mainstream (and faces tough competitors in Redmond), the marketing for the Flock launch has already demonstrated the importance of leveraging social media: it was almost entirely based on the founders’ blogs and some screen shots on flickr.


Leave a Reply

